Teaching Staff and Tutorship

Currently, the academic staff teaching the Master of Science in Artificial Intelligence includes 12 full professors, 12 tenured associate professors, 6 associate professors, and 4 assistant professors. The staff of the Master of Science in Artificial Intelligence has a lengthy and officially accredited experience in the field of Artificial Intelligence. 

All members of the staff hold a PhD, most of them in Computer Science. Other qualifications held are: PhD in Telecommunications, MD, PhD in Civil Engineering, and PhD in Electrical and Computer Engineering.

The members of the academic staff teaching the Master of Science in Artificial Intelligence are specializez in three knowledge branches: Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence (27 professors), Statistics and Operational Research (6 professors), and English Philology (1).

As a whole, the staff members have earned a total of 88 six-year research cycles, which is equivalent to an average of 2.59 six-year research cycles per professor.

At the national level, it is noteworthy that three teachers (Manuel Hermenegildo, Pedro Larrañaga and Asunción Gómez) have been National Prize for Computer Science (Aritmel Prize) in the years 2005, 2013 and 2015, respectively. Asunción Gómez obtained the Ada Byron Award in 2015 for the female technologist, Pedro Larrañaga was awarded the AEPIA (Spanish Artificial Intelligence Association) award in 2018, Óscar Corcho won the Juan López de Peñalver award from the Royal Academy of Engineering in 2016 and Víctor Maojo García has obtained the National Computer and Health Award (2018). In addition, Concha Bielza and Asunción Gómez received the UPM research awards in 2014 and 2015, respectively.

At the international level, it is worth noting that Manuel Hermenegildo has been named president of the INRIA Scientific Council (2018), that Víctor Maojo is a member of the International Academy of Health Sciences Informatics and a member of the American College of Medical Informatics, Asunción Gómez Pérez a member of the European Academy of Sciences and Pedro Larrañaga Múgica is an ECCAI Fellow and member of the Europaea Academy.

The tutoring schedules of Master of Science in Artificial Intelligence academic staff are available on the Department of Artificial Intelligence website.